"Not Allowed" Issue with OneDrive

Hello Forum,

I’m new with ODrive, so I encountered an issue today, which even after reading some posts here and on google, I can’t seem to get over.

Firstly, let me say that this is one of the greatest tools I’ve ever worked with!! Keep up the good work!

Now, moving on to the problem. I have a shared folder (someone shared it with me, but I have “Edit” permissions) in my OneDrive account. Opening and viewing files in ODrive (on my desktop) works perfectly, but I tried to add a new folder and I keep receiving the “Not Allowed” Error, which tells me that “The file is locked on Microsoft OneDrive”. But what does this actually mean?

It can’t seem to be a permission error, as I have the “Edit” permission.

Do you maybe have some ideas?

Thank you very much in advance.

Best regards,
Richard

Hi Richard, if you click on the message it should give you a description of why it is not being allowed. Often times with OneDrive it seems to be illegal characters in the file and/or folder names.

@Eric Hi, thanks for your reply. So, as I was saying in the original post, when I click on the Not Allowed Message it says “File is locked on OneDrive”.

So what could this be?

Thanks,
Richard

Ahh, yes. This issue…

This stems from a historic problem with the way OneDrive provided (limited) access to the shared folder via their API. We should revisit this though, since there are some things that have changed in their unified API. I’ve made a dev note to follow-up.

For now, unfortunately, it is not possible to add/edit files inside a OneDrive shared folder, even if you have the proper perms.

@Tony Thanks Tony for the info. This is really unfortunate, but let’s just say it’s “Microsoft”, always making things complicated.

If it’s taken into consideration than it is good, and maybe this feature will be available in a future update.

Thank you again!

Best regards,
Richard