Using Odrive to restore from cloud to NAS


#1

My NAS recently died. Everything on it was synced to OneDrive using Odrive, so the data is up in the cloud. I have purchased a new NAS and created the same folder structure as was on the original.

When I link Odrive to the new (empty) folders on the NAS, will Odrive think that I’ve deliberately deleted the files and start deleting the copies in the cloud?


#2

Hi @vbolinius,
When you first create a “sync to odrive” it will perform a merge of the local and remote data.

This means creating a “sync to odrive” relationship with an empty local folder (your NAS) odrive will merge the remote and local side and you will end up seeing a bunch of placeholders for the remote content at the location you mapped. odrive will not think that you have deleted anything.