Synch isn't immediate. Should it be?

I’m new to oDrive so excuse the newby question. Installed oDrive on two machines. On both machines, I right clicked on the Desktop folder in Finder and selected “Sync to odrive.” I then saw the contents merged on both machines as expected.

However, I then added a .txt file on one machine, expecting it to appear on the other, and it doesn’t. How do I get changes on one machine to be immediately reflected on the other?

Also, a folder on the original desktop appears as a .cloudf on the other. Is there some way to automatically download sub directories for a synced parent directory?

Hi @allen,
Reflection of a newly uploaded file on another system will depend on a couple of things.

Some storage services offer an API to ask for recent changes. This is often seen in consumer storage products like Google, Dropbox, OneDrive, Box, and Amazon Drive. When this type of API is available, odrive will see the newly uploaded file quickly and load it “in the background”, meaning the user doesn’t have to do anything.

Utility storage products like S3, Wasabi and B2 do not offer this type of API, so there isn’t a way for odrive to ask the storage what has changed. Instead it needs to look at a particular folder to know what has changed. odrive will periodically check the remote storage for changes “in the background”, but remote scanning is an expensive process, so it will only do it occasionally.

odrive has some features to help when a changes API is not available.