Placeholder icon inconsistent

So. Very. Confused. Hopefully someone can help explain it to me.

I am new to oDrive, and thus far am liking the concept. However, I am questioning what is actually stored on my computer vs. what is not. Obviously I am trying to keep from having too many duplicate files stored on my computer, but I am hesitant to delete files stored, until I fully understand how oDrive works.

I have COPIED files in my iCloud and pasted them into oDrive (Amazon Cloud specifically) and those files appear to be in my Amazon Drive. I have verified they are there both in the oDrive web portal as well as Amazon’s web portal, so I am reasonably sure the files exist where I think they should exist. However, the “Documents” folder icon in Finder’s oDrive does NOT have the pink top. No folders within the “Documents” folder are pink (in the Amazon Cloud section). Any single files within the “Documents” folder have the “oDrive symbol on paper” icon and also show .cloud extension. Additionally, no folder shows a .cloudf extension.

This is inconsistent with what I was expecting and how my other two synced drives (Box and Dropbox) behave. In the case of Dropbox, most (not all) folders in Finder are pink tabbed AND have the .cloudf extension. Additionally, I have some folders in Box and Dropbox that do NOT have a pink tabbed, by folders within that same folder are pink tabbed.

Perhaps I am wrong, but I would expect that ALL synced BUT NOT STORED folders would be pink tabbed. All downloaded - i.e stored on the computer HDD - would NOT be pink tabbed. In my current case, regardless of the file extensions, some are pink tabbed, some are not.

The extension of .cloud or .cloudf leads me to believe that the file or folder is the placeholder (and not stored on the computer), but I cannot know for sure - at least visually.

Am I missing something, or have oDrive service completely wrong.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

R/

Hi @neildishman,