Odrive Icon in the Taskbar Keeps Disappearing on Windows 10

I am new to odrive and have installed the software on my iMac and MacBook Pro in the last few days. I also use the Windows version of the software on the virtual Windows 10 setup I have on both of my Macs via VMware Fusion. For whatever reason the odrive icon that appears in the taskbar keeps disappearing whenever I have to restart Windows 10. Despite this the odrive software appears to be running and the files are being kept in sync. I have checked the Windows 10 setting for to “select which icons appear in the taskbar” and odriveapp.exe is set in the “ON” position so I am really baffled. I also tried the complete uninstall process and reinstall of the software as listed in the FAQs and whereas the odrive icon appears in the taskbar after the reinstall it either disappears shortly thereafter or after the aforementioned restart of Windows. Would appreciate any help to get this resolved as that icon is very helpful in seeing progress of the various syncs I have setup and this problem does not exist on the Mac side of the software.

Thanks!

Hi @john355,
Let’s try running odriveapp from the command line to see if it is spitting anything out:

1. Open a command prompt (cmd)
  2. Copy and paste the following and hit enter:
    cd "%userprofile%\.odrive\bin" && dir
  3. The above command will list at least one four digit directory (like 5203). You will then wan to use that number in the following command:
    .\5203\odriveapp.exe
    Make sure you use whatever number you have, if it is not 5203

This will launch odrive and hopefully spit out something useful that we can use to diagnose what is happening.

Thanks!

Hi Tony: