Odrive consuming upload bandwidth

Hi there,

I’ve noticed that over the past month Odrive has managed to eat up 350+GB worth of bandwidth where majority of it is in upload. i’m currently sitting at about 14GB/day in upload and 1GB/day in download. Why is odrive constantly using so much bandwidth?

I really love the product but this bandwidth usage is quite shocking. I’ve been using odrive for several months now and this is the first time when i’ve gotten anywhere close to my bandwidth limit.

Thanks

Hi @rpuscasu,
14GB a day certainly sounds like a lot more than the background activity.

Can you send over a diagnostic from the odrive menu so I can take a look?
Do you see anything in the odrive menu under active, waiting, or not allowed?

Diagnostic information has been sent.

Hi @rpuscasu,
There are a few files that are being denied upload by Google because of insufficient permissions. odrive will periodically retry these files to see if the issue blocking upload has been resolved. This will contribute to the upload activity.

You can see these files listed in the “not allowed” section of the odrive menu. Can you take a look? It appears that you may not have write-access on these particular files.

I also moved this discussion to its own thread for better tracking.

A post was merged into an existing topic: STOP using bandwidth

Hi, I am experiencing the same problem. Although no large file has been updated, odrive uploads data continuously (already 2,7GB today). I have no unallowed files, but 195 in the trash bin that I cannot exclude (the Empty trash and sync all deletes does not work). Any help is welcome. Is there any way to chek which files are being uploaded (it cannot be the simple task of checking the file structure or updates)?

Hi @nicolas2,
Can you send a diagnostic from the odrive menu so I can take a closer look? Can you also try to empty the trash before sending the diagnostic?

Just ping this thread once you are able to.