Network Storage/Multiple Users

Hello hello all,

I am new to odrive. After having too many hard drives fail on me over the years, I have decided to take all my backups to the cloud so I never have to worry about losing or recovering data. Also, the features of this system solve so many of my other wishes/problems/desires.We wanted some input on an idea/guidance for a possible workaround to some network drive/multiple users problem, at least until they’re officially worked out.

A breakdown of our situation:
We primarily use Amazon Cloud now to store our data, and there are two users in our family that share this storage.

We each have our own MacBook Pro, and we share an iMac at home, each with our own user accounts, and a third user account we call ‘HomeShare’ that we use essentially as a server. The HomeShare account is set to automatically start up when the computer starts up, and is left as an always-on account. It runs various things such as a Plex server, some autoRSS downloaders, and a few other low overhead things.

The iMac has an SSD that has the OS and User accounts/profiles, and it also has a 2TB HDD that we use to share files/media, backup large data, and for the Plex server. (Think network storage, but without the network, it’s a second drive located internally.)

Here’s where we are at: We each want to be able to have our own personal data folders that we sync to our user accounts on both the iMac and our laptops, and we also want access to the network drive in case we want to access some of the data from cold storage.

Our personal laptops are no problem, we can download the software and only choose to sync our individual folders, unless we specifically wanted to navigate to a specific file in the backup space. No multiple user/networked storage problem here.