Moving a folder to desktop


#1

So after upgrading to premium, I see that I can sync arbitrary folders…

I have the following right now - a “screencaps” alias on my desktop that points to a “screencap” directory under my B2 storage. I have this setup on all my Macs and it’s a nice way to know I have all my screencaps from all macs in one place.

I’d like to remove the alias and sync directly to folders on the desktop… I’m a little puzzled as when I remove the alias and make an actual directory I can select “sync” - I’m then pushed to a browser window where I can pick either an existing folder or add a new one. In either case, it seems like when I add a folder outside of the main odrive folder, I’m basically setting myself up to have two copies - the one on the desktop, and the one in the odrive hierarchy… Do I just unsync the one under the odrive folder or no?


#2

Hi @amazon12,

This is correct. When you create a “sync to odrive” folder it is setup independent to the default odrive folder. You can unsync the one in the default odrive folder to ensure you are not storing two cached copies of that remote content.


#3

Something’s going a bit screwy with this method.

In my example, I’ve got a desktop (where I keep local synced copies of everything because I have the space), a laptop and I’m using B2 storage.

Two actions that I keep repeating, don’t seem to have an effect:

  • unsyncing the “default” odrive folder(s) on the desktop host that I’ve “moved” to the Desktop folder. I’ll select unsync from the Finder context menu, the odrive context menu then shows a “stop” option, indicating something is happening. Revisiting it a few hours later shows that all the files are still there and have not reverted to placeholder (.cloud/.cloudf) files. Of note, the two folders show up in the “waiting” queue list…

  • syncing the Desktop folder(s) on the laptop seems to have no effect. I have folders full of .cloud/.cloudf files but after choosing “sync” and then “everything and subfolders” in the dialog box, literally nothing happens. The menubar icon doesn’t change to an active state, the context menu doesn’t have “stop” as an option.

Am I doing things right or no? Never used the unsync before since I was on the freebie version…


#4

Hi @amazon12,
These commands should be doing something. Can you send a diagnostic from the two systems so I can see if anything funky is going on?