Is there any way to unsync in the free version?
The explicit “unsync” command is not available without Premium. However, it is still possible to turn files back into placeholders.
If you find yourself needing to free up space, you can use the following methods to turn sections of your storage back into placeholders.
Unsync. In addition to the free trial of Premium that is offered when you first sign-up, we also offer full refund if you purchase Premium and then cancel within 30 days. This provides a no-risk way to extend your Premium usage another 30 days after the free trial expires.
Unlink a storage source and wait until odrive picks-up the link removal. When it does, odrive will attempt to move the local link folder into the OS Trash/Recycle Bin. odrive will perform a data safety check first to make sure that this can be done safely to ensure that the data is not lost. Once odrive has removed the local link folder, re-link the storage, which will initialize it as a local placeholder file.
Deauthorize your odrive client (accessed in the odrive tray menu under “Authorized User”) and sign back in. This will create a backup of the current odrive folder and create a new, freshly initialized odrive folder with only placeholders. The backup folder can be deleted at your discretion.
Uninstall and reinstall. Uninstallation of odrive will create a backup of the current odrive folder. Once you reinstall odrive, you will have a fresh odrive folder, with only placeholders. The backup folder can be deleted at your discretion.
Keep in mind that everything starts out as placeholders, by default. This means that, with free odrive, you can actually browse all of your remote storage as placeholders without needing to download anything locally, using as little space as possible, right from the start. Its only after things are downloaded and then the space needs to be freed that you require unsync.
We understand there are some folks who only want the unsync feature and would like a subscription plan to accommodate that. We apologize that we are unable to offer this option, at this time. We will provide an announcement if that changes in the future.