Indexing Unsynced Files

I’m new to this so I may have missed previous posts, but what about indexing files that are on some cloud drive and unsynced on your local computer, that is, locally you only see placeholders?

File Explorer searches don’t work, presumably because that program sees only the empty placeholders apparently without content.

Is there any way to index unsynced files by their file name?

Hi @natandmark2,
You should be able to index and search for placeholder files by name, just as you do for any normal files. If you have unsynced folders, however, you would not be able to index the contents of those folders unless the were expanded first.

Can you provide some more details on what you are seeing?

On a desktop computer my files are synced via odrive to my amazon cloud setup, so files are also available locally. I can index them via Microsoft File Explorer just fine.

On a second laptop computer I have my amazon cloud unsynced, so the files are only available online. On that setup File Explorer sees just the placeholders, and nothing is indexed. For example, if I type in the letter “e” in File Explorer search it shows no files matching that name!

I’m not sure I understand what you mean my expanding the contents of folders first – the files on my amazon cloud drive would not fit on my laptop, which is sort of the point of using the cloud drive.

THanks,

Mark

Hi @natandmark2,
Thanks for the follow-up.

You can expand folders and still have the files inside take up no space, using placeholders. Windows File Explorer should pick up placeholder files the same as any other files.

For example, in this screenshot I did a search for ‘copy’ in my odrive folder. My odrive folder doesn’t have any non-placeholder files in it at the moment.

How do you expand placeholders and yet have them take up no space on your local drive?

Mark

Hi @natandmark2,