Basic setup question - do I need the local Google Drive, OneDrive & iCloud apps installed when using odrive?

I’ve been using odrive for a couple of years, but I’m building a new machine and want to make sure I get everything set up correctly for maximum efficiency.

On my current box I have the “apps” installed for google drive, onedrive, iCloud and Dropbox PLUS the onedrive client (because I got odrive after I had all those services installed). I only go to the local odrive folder to access two of the many accounts I have, the rest I access through the local Google drive folder. In other words, I haven’t doubled up on local disk usage by syncing the same accounts twice in two different folders (at least I don’t think I have).

On the new box, since I’m starting from scratch, wouldn’t it be best to install only the odrive client for maximum simplicity? In other words, do I need to install the apps from the various storage services again? If I ever want to share files with others from Google drive, I use the web interface, so no need to have any sort of local commands when I right-click on a file in the Windows file explorer.

I know this probably seems like a dumb question, but I want to have the cleanest solution possible on the new machine, and the way I have things now I’m always terrified that when I’m removing what I think are duplicate files in one of the accounts, I’m going to somehow delete the source/original.

Thanks in advance for your help!

1 Like

Hi @matt.nye ,
Thanks for reaching out. This is definitely not a dumb question!

odrive is intended to be a replacement for all of the other sync clients, letting you access all of your linked storage in one place.

Just to provide an example, I use 4 different systems daily (one Windows, one Linux, and two Macs), with about 120 different storage accounts linked and I only have odrive installed on each system.