Google Cloud suddenly slow and super expensive

googlecloudstorage

Forgive me, I’m a total newb to cloud storage.

I have a client that uploads 100’s of gb in large files every week. He was using FTP but we kept having corruption issues.

I switched over to Google Cloud and it was SUPER fast at first but also extremely expensive, couple hundred a month in fees.

Now it’s slowed down to 40Mbps upload (we have a 1Gbps tap). I searched and didn’t see any scripts for speeding an upload, just download.

Also, considering we have probably 6-8TB downloaded a month, does $200/month sound right in Google Cloud fees? Seems like lunacy to me, as though we’re doing something wrong.

Hi @prefectionist,
Can you tell me a little bit more about how this is being used?

odrive has not changed anything regarding speed of uploads in a very long time, so I can’t say why speeds would slow down. Are you and your client seeing the slowdown?
Do you see this slowdown from multiple systems?

Google Cloud Storage is $0.02 per GB of stored data for their standard storage per month (less for nearline and coldline, more for Japan). If you are adding several TB a month every month that will definitely start to add up. There are also fees for data transfer out of Google Cloud, although they are measured in TB, so it shouldn’t have much of an impact if you are only downloading 6-8TB/month. If you use nearline and coldline, those have a cost for data retrieval too.

More info here: https://cloud.google.com/storage/pricing
You should also be able to see the details of cost from your Google Cloud Billing Console: https://console.cloud.google.com/billing

I thought I would reply in this thread first, and if it’s not the right place, I’ll start a new one…